Skin Allergies | I looked like a raspberry and I thought I was going to die

“As a kid, I ate five mangoes and I had to get hospitalised.”

“My skin went all bumpy and left a red streak down my arm. That night, it was so itchy, I couldn’t stop scratching, and everything started bleeding”

“It’s also hereditary. So my mum has the same rashes when she comes into contact with some foods. That was lucky because I thought I was going to die.”

“My skin allergy is caused by mangoes, pineapple, kiwis, crab and lobster.”

“I get rashes, it turns really red and I look like a raspberry.”

“I stay away from these foods now. It’s not so hard because I don’t like mangoes but I do wish I could eat crab and lobster. They are considered delicacies in my culture!”

“People do get surprised when I tell them I can’t eat mango.”

“Sometimes it does get hard and frustrating because people forget and will be like ‘here, have some mango,’ and then get upset when I refuse.”

How can I manage if I get a rash?

  1. Aloe Vera

Aloe Vera is anti-inflammatory. You can apply Aloe Vera gel to get fast relief.

  1. Oatmeal

Oatmeal is calming and many people use it for eczema. You can mix a cup of raw oatmeal in some water and add it to the bath.

  1. Ice-pack

This can be used to quickly treat facial rashes and relieve itching.

Contact us on Facebook if you have some skin care tips or a story to tell too!

Leave a Reply

